Adopted September 11, 2007; Amended July 12, 2021; Amended November 7, 2022
Any person, who is a resident of the White Pine Library Coöperative Service Area or a patron of a library that participated in the Mich-Card Program, may become a member of the Millington Arbela District Library.
Persons applying for a library card must fill out all parts of the application and show some form of identification with their current address. Examples of acceptable identification are a Michigan driver’s license, a Michigan identification card, a school identification card, plant identification card, a utility bill, etc.
The charge for a replacement library card shall be $1.00.
Patrons must present their own library card to check out any item from the library. New patrons are allowed to check out only three items. Established patrons may check out a maximum of thirty (30) items
Patrons with $3.00 or more in accumulated fines may not check out any items.
Patrons who have stated more than twice that they have returned material, but the material cannot be found in the library, may not check out any more material until all materials that are out are either returned or paid for.
Books, magazines, audio cassettes and audio CDs may be checked out for two weeks. Video tapes and DVDs may be checked out for three days.
A deposit may be required to check out certain items at the discretion of the library director.
All items may be renewed once over the phone or on-line as long as there is no “hold” on the item. For additional renewals, the items must be brought to the library.
Fines on books, magazines, and audiobooks shall be $.10 per item per day overdue. Fines on DVDs shall be $1.00 per item per day overdue. The maximum fine on any item shall be $10.00
The charge for a lost item shall be the cost of the item as it appears in the computer circulation system or on its accession card. The charge for a lost magazine shall be $3.50. If an item is returned good condition within 3 months of the payment, the payment shall be returned to the patron. Damaged items will be charged on an individual basis depending on the extent of the damage and the age of the item
Patrons will be notified by their listed preferred method of contact of an overdue item one week after the item became overdue.
If the item has not been returned within two weeks, patrons will again be notified by their listed preferred method of contact.
If the item has not been returned within four weeks, the patron will be notified by letter.
If the item has not been returned or paid for within eight weeks, the patron will be sent an invoice and warned of possible collection agency action.
If the item has not been returned or paid for within twelve weeks, the patron’s debt may be turned over to the collection agency
Patrons in good standing are entitled to use the library’s interloan service
All information about patrons, regardless of age, is confidential and will not be released to anyone without a court order. This includes unlisted phone numbers, overdue records, and titles of items that a person has checked out at any time. Information listed in the phone book is not considered confidential.